Author Topic: Data Grid for Dialog  (Read 314 times)

bottomleypotts

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Data Grid for Dialog
« on: August 06, 2017, 11:18:22 pm »
Can I ask what everyone is doing regarding data grids? The examples in the tech database seem old and out dated; referring to Visual Basic components or grids that are no longer available - or worse are now charging $1800 for the privilege. I am currently formatting listboxes - carefully - as I'm not a fan of reportview.

JTaylor

  • Pundit
  • *****
  • Posts: 806
    • Data & Stuff Inc.
Re: Data Grid for Dialog
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 06:08:46 am »
I have used iGrid from 10tec.com for many years.   You cannot bind it to a datasource but other than that it has worked very well for me.   As you mentioned, cost was a big factor in me giving it a try as it was MUCH cheaper than the others I found but turned out it was just what I needed.

Jim

bottomleypotts

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Data Grid for Dialog
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2017, 01:33:51 am »
Thanks for the reply Jim

stanl

  • Pundit
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
Re: Data Grid for Dialog
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2017, 06:48:18 am »
The fact that you have issues with reportview begs the question of what you want a 'grid' to do. For display to user with sorting and filtering capabilities - Powershell has a simple out-Gridview that enables a .NET grid display from a dataset (and is easily called from WB). You can also use the CLR capabilities of WB to design a C# .net grid, but it involves a lot more coding.