Exceeding astatusbar limits using Huge Math

Started by jmburton2001, February 22, 2019, 02:26:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jmburton2001

I've been pondering this for a few years ever since I exceeded astatusbar's limit of 65,535. It's never been a deal breaker, just an annoyance because I'd never know when processing was going to finish. I'd most likely use the total lines of a text file to populate "TotalItems".

Anyway, I've always figured that it's simple math, I just needed to figure it out. This is what I came up with. I've tested "TotalItems" with values from 10 to 250,000 and it appears to work properly.

Code (winbatch) Select
AddExtender("wwsop34i.dll")
AddExtender('WWHUG44I.DLL')

TotalItems = "85000"
MaxItems = "65535" ; This can actually be any number less that 65535 because it will maintain the "Result =" ratio
Result = huge_Divide(MaxItems,TotalItems)

Icount = Abs(huge_Multiply (TotalItems, Result))
Count = "0"

astatusbar(0,"Item Analysis","Reading Items",MaxItems,0)

For item = 1 To Icount
  line = "Whatever you want to analyze"
  Count = Count + 1
  item = Abs(huge_Multiply (Count, Result))
  ItemPct = Count * 100 / TotalItems
  PctMsg = StrCat ("Analysis is ",ItemPct,"%% complete...",@CRLF,"Reading item %Count% of %TotalItems%")
  astatusbar(1,"Item Analysis",PctMsg,MaxItems,item)
  ; Perform some work...
Next

astatusbar(2,"Item Analysis","Done",MaxItems,item)
LastMessage = StrCat ("Total items processed = ",Count,@CRLF, "Last line = ",line)
Message ("Done",LastMessage)

Exit

I'm really placing this here for my own future reference since I'll probably forget where I put it in a few years or so... Thank you in advance for letting me store this here!

td

Taking the absolute value of an integer with a value greater than that of the maximum 32-bit integer using the Abs function is a little like using a pseudo-random number generator.
"No one who sees a peregrine falcon fly can ever forget the beauty and thrill of that flight."