wntAddDrive WIL Extender Error: 499: Unrecognised network error #183

Started by arnoudx6, May 07, 2015, 06:38:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

arnoudx6

Hello everyone,

I am not an expert in programming so forgive me if i ask a stupid question :)

At the company where i work i have an Winbatch application called Iv-Projectverkenner(Dutch). The program is sometimes giving an error(most times not) but i can't figure out what is going on. Inside the code there is a line which should create an persistent K: drive mapping to an variable folder path. The following line is used for this:

rtv    = wntAddDrive(@DEFAULT,@DEFAULT, netpath, localname, persist)

The error i receive is "wntAddDrive WIL Extender Error: 499: Unrecognised network error #183"

Things i tried are the following:
Disable UAC;
Check if there is not an backslash at the end of the folder path;
Check if the drive is not already mapped;
Check if i can access the path by using If direxist(netpath).

Any help would be appreciated!

With kind regards,

Arnoud

td

System error code 183 has the message text 'Cannot create a file when that file already exists' associated with it.  Seems a strange error given the nature of the function but perhaps it is the result of the drive letter already being assigned to physical device, a directory using the 'subst' command, or another share.

Note that you can find the text associate with system errors in our Tech Database or on MSFT's website. 

http://techsupt.winbatch.com/webcgi/webbatch.exe?techsupt/nftechsupt.web+WinBatch/Error~Codes+!!Windows~System~Errors!!.txt
"No one who sees a peregrine falcon fly can ever forget the beauty and thrill of that flight."
  - Dr. Tom Cade

arnoudx6

@td Thank you for your reply, i am sure that the drive is not already mapped, and we are not using subst.

I also checked the permissions on all our folders.

With kind regards,

Arnoud Stolk

td