Winbatch replacement

Started by scotts, August 09, 2017, 10:08:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scotts

Hello, I have been using WinBatch since 2005 and have hundreds of compiled scripts and apps varying from simple to complex. When the news came down that Winbatch was closing down I was tasked with finding a replacement and begin re-writes. I now see that WinBatch is continuing on with new stewardship but my management still wants a replacement because the change was a startling reality.

Without sounding too treasonable to the scripting package I have used all these years... Any suggestions as to a suitable replacement besides the full blown MS Visual Studio Suite? The retirement of Winbatch brought up several items on the wish list from management for our small team of System Analysts/Scripters and I am afraid I cant get the Pandora's Box closed again.

Sincere advise welcome
Thanks,
Scott

td

Based on the response since the first of July, it would appear that there are not many members of the WinBatch community who share your view of "reality".

There have been so many programming/scripting languages created in the last few years that it has become an industry inside joke.   And you can find advocates for all of them.  They all have there strengths and weaknesses, and similarities and differences.  Good luck.

"No one who sees a peregrine falcon fly can ever forget the beauty and thrill of that flight."
  - Dr. Tom Cade

JTaylor

Probably shouldn't respond since I don't have any good suggestions if you are looking for the best option out there since you already have it.   I think that if your management wants a scripting language whose life is guaranteed to never end then you will need to stop scripting in your shop.   Visual Studio stuff, based on comments over the years as well as my own experience, takes a lot more time and effort to develop solutions.

Curious, what is on your/their wishlist?

Jim

scotts