Author Topic: vCheck Error  (Read 232 times)

jmburton2001

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
vCheck Error
« on: May 01, 2018, 10:25:22 am »
Installed Winbatch+Compiler yesterday and decided to use vCheck to install all the extenders.

WinInet installed - Check
Zipper installed - Check
IE11 - Working
Windows 10 HP (x64)

Everything seems to go perfectly until it gets finished downloading and unzipping the extenders, then I receive an error.

When I searched this error it pertained to WebBatch and mapped network drives. This is running on an internal SATA drive.

What else can I try?

td

  • Tech Support
  • *****
  • Posts: 2538
    • WinBatch
Re: vCheck Error
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2018, 11:07:01 am »
The error is not confined to WebBatch and it means pretty much what it says.  WinBatch can't open the script passed as a parameter to the exe.   Vcheck.wbt copies itself to the unzipped extenders folder and relaunches from there.  It does this so that it can install extenders that it may have used to download and unzip the extender files.

You likely have some kind of unusual inherited permissions problem on the folder or file that preventing WinBatch from reading the copied vcheck script.  You might want to consider placing the vcheck.zip file contents in a different part of the file system.
"Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can't lose."
  - Bill Gates


jmburton2001

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: vCheck Error
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2018, 10:18:09 am »
You likely have some kind of unusual inherited permissions problem on the folder or file that preventing WinBatch from reading the copied vcheck script.  You might want to consider placing the vcheck.zip file contents in a different part of the file system.

This response is only made in case someone in the future runs into the same issue.

Strange indeed... I created a directory at D:\vcheck\ and placed the vcheck.zip file in it. After that I went into the directory's security settings and set every group to full access. I even went so far as adding "Everyone" and granting them full access. I then unblocked the zip file and extracted the contents into that directory.

It failed twice, both times reporting an error on line 222. I opened vcheck.wbt in Studio and went to line 222 and then ran debug so I could look at the variables it was expecting. Debug ran without fail and I was able to update and install all the extenders... Since it did what was expected, I didn't look into it any further.

Your Mileage May Vary

Win10 Home (x64)

ChuckC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
Re: vCheck Error
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2018, 10:38:55 am »
Out of curiosity.... When you launch WinBatch Studio, or, if you launch it via PopMenu, then this applies to when PopMenu itself was started, do you get a UAC prompt to elevate/escalate and run it [PopMenu or WinBatch Studio] as an administrator?

I ask because vCheck is can be "executed" via the WIL interpreter hosted in a WinBatch process [e.g.e launched by double-clicking on a .WBT file], or via the WIL interpreter hosted in a WinBatch Studio process.  Given that it ultimately is attempting to copy files to a location under "Program Files" and/or "Program Files (x86)", both of which have security settings on them that restrict write-access to administrators and trusted installers, the process executing vCheck may or may not have the necessary "elevated admin" status and the corresponding effective access rights required to perform its work successfully.  By default, IIRC, double-clicking on a .WBT file launches WinBatch under the user's current [restricted] token even if they are logged on as a user with administrator privileges.  This would readily explain the behavior where it works correctly under WinBatch Studio [running elevated] but not under WinBatch [running restricted].


jmburton2001

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: vCheck Error
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2018, 10:50:35 am »
Out of curiosity.... When you launch WinBatch Studio, or, if you launch it via PopMenu, then this applies to when PopMenu itself was started, do you get a UAC prompt to elevate/escalate and run it [PopMenu or WinBatch Studio] as an administrator?

Hi Chuck!

If you're asking only about Studio, I normally open it from a shortcut and then have to elevate (UAC) it as an administrator. When I opened vcheck.wbt I right-clicked on it and told it to open with Winbatch EXE. That was most likely the failure.

I don't use PopMenu...

td

  • Tech Support
  • *****
  • Posts: 2538
    • WinBatch
Re: vCheck Error
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2018, 01:41:48 pm »
You likely have some kind of unusual inherited permissions problem on the folder or file that preventing WinBatch from reading the copied vcheck script.  You might want to consider placing the vcheck.zip file contents in a different part of the file system.

This response is only made in case someone in the future runs into the same issue.

Strange indeed... I created a directory at D:\vcheck\ and placed the vcheck.zip file in it. After that I went into the directory's security settings and set every group to full access. I even went so far as adding "Everyone" and granting them full access. I then unblocked the zip file and extracted the contents into that directory.

It failed twice, both times reporting an error on line 222. I opened vcheck.wbt in Studio and went to line 222 and then ran debug so I could look at the variables it was expecting. Debug ran without fail and I was able to update and install all the extenders... Since it did what was expected, I didn't look into it any further.


We have been having a few minor ISP issues the last few days.   Not saying that that is the cause of it but it does explain an error on line 222.

Also, vcheck.wbt checks for elevated admin privileges soon after it starts.  If the running process does not have admin privileges,  it displays a message box with an error stating that you need admin privileges and then terminates.
"Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can't lose."
  - Bill Gates