Capture Terminal Output

Started by nrr, December 15, 2023, 10:29:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nrr

Hello .... I am a volunteer teacher at an "English as a Second Language" course.  with students from different countries in each class, I developed a neat program that uses the DeepL language translation api to perform multi-language translations for any given input.  I use a Windows terminal to submit a curl command to DeepL and pipe the response to the Windows clipboard via the "! clip" option.  I retrieve and parse the clipboard contents for display in my program output.  All this works great except when the translated response contains non-English characters (which is usually the case).   I know I can accomplish my needs by piping the output to a file instead of the clipboard but I'd much prefer a non-file transfer approach.

Does anyone know why the clipboard mangles non-English characters and know if there's some way I can accomplish what I'm trying to do without a file transfer and without any type of send keys approach?

I realize the part of my program that is causing problems isn't a Winbatch problem but I also know from years of past Winbatch experience that this is the best forum on the internet and if there's a solution, someone here will have already done it.

Thanks
Nick

nrr

Just to clarify ... the problem occurs with the clipboard.  When the response contains non English characters, the output to the clipboard via the " | clip" option is completely mangled.
Nick

td