Programming technique/discipline

Started by stevengraff, February 07, 2014, 06:20:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stevengraff

OK, confession... I'm not really a programmer. Thank you WinBatch for the opportunity to not let that detail get in my way!

Here's my question/problem:

When refining my programs I sometimes move at a glacial pace, trying to ensure that I don't break my existing "known working" code. I do a lot of add-a-line, test-a-line type of work, ok, sometimes 3 or 4 lines at a crack. I use debug(1) to single-step through my code. Then, when getting ready to compile, I have the minor pita of having to scour my code (using ctrl-F) for left-behind debug(1) lines, because, after all, no one wants my end-users single-stepping through my code!

Is there another way? Or is this about as good as it gets? Suggestions most welcome and appreciated.

Deana

You have a number of options for [Debugging WIL Scripts]

WinBatch Studio is used to both edit and debug scripts. There are various ways to debug a script:

Experienced programmers who can write relatively bug-free code might just write a script and then hit the ââ,¬Å"Goââ,¬Â button and see if it works. If an error occurs, the line causing the error on it will be indicated and the current state of all variables displayed.

The rest of us will find that debugging a script is a more interesting process. We might write a few lines of code and then press the ââ,¬Å"Step Intoââ,¬Â button to step through the code one line at a time. As each line is executed the current state of all variables is displayed in a special ââ,¬Å"watch windowââ,¬Â.