WinBatch® Technical Support Forum

All Things WinBatch => WinBatch => Topic started by: Orionbelt on July 26, 2013, 01:13:46 PM

Title: Dialog: Bad control Name: 1 error
Post by: Orionbelt on July 26, 2013, 01:13:46 PM
hi all,
I created small utility to show dialog of ASSETTAG...etc on my windows WINPE osd deployment. Problem is when exe run, i am getting followin error. attached file.
I am not really programmer but found winbatch really helpful. My code and dialog is attached.


thanks in advance...
Title: Re: Dialog: Bad control Name: 1 error
Post by: Deana on July 26, 2013, 01:33:32 PM
The code seems to be failing on this line:

Code (winbatch) Select
If IP!=PrevIP Then DialogControlSet(Info_Handle,1,DC_TITLE,IP)

DialogControlSet's second parameter expects a CONTROL NAME rather than a control number. Older versions Dialog WWWDLGED 6.1 Accepted a number of the control (i.e. 1), however 6.2 formatted dialogs expect a CONTROL NAME.

QuoteSyntax:
DialogControlSet( dialog-handle, control-name, set-request-code, set-info )

If you are trying to update the IP ADDRESS VARYTEXT control (Information003=`025,035,156,010,VARYTEXT,"VaryText_8",i,"IP Address:  %IP%",DEFAULT,7,0,"Microsoft Sans Serif|8192|70|34","0|0|128",DEFAULT`
) then you need to specify the name "VaryText_8".


Code (winbatch) Select
If IP!=PrevIP Then DialogControlSet(Info_Handle,"VaryText_8",DC_TITLE,IP)

Also note that you currently have all the controls Tab number set to seven. You might want to give each control its own unique tab-order number.