Porting from old, old Winbatch

Started by Staudenmaier, September 11, 2023, 07:35:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Staudenmaier

I've been programming in Winbatch since about 1992.  Since about 2007, I've never had any real impetus to upgrade.  The language interpreter is v97d dated 2007.  It has always worked perfectly up to (at least) Windows 8.  I've always considered it the most reliable piece of software I have.

The problem is, I lost the key to both the Interpreter AND the (pseudo) compiler.  Do you have records of registration that far back?

My other option would be to port my old code to your new code.  The problem there is that I have about 700kb of source code to port.  I would have to ask you about any structural changes you've made (my Winbatch is most like a structured Basic) AND how you've changed the function names.

It would be most helpful if I could get a list of the current functions to reference.

Morrie passed away didn't he?

Thanking You,
Bob Staudenmaier

jmburton2001

Hi Bob!

A few years ago I found myself in the same position you're in. I've been using Winbatch and their compiler since the mid 1990s. Same as you it had worked perfectly and I had way more than 700kb worth of scripts. I also had a registration hiccup.

Tony (AKA Island Lake Consulting), the current owner and maintainer, didn't have registration records going back that far. Since they've kept the purchase price very affordable, I purchased a new license.

As far as your old scripts? I've opened some very old ones in Winbatch Studio with great success. My old scripts only need to point to any new extenders and they've compiled and run just fine. If I do have any issues it's been nice having this forum to ask questions. The debug and "step through" functions in Studio also help immensely!

I would have to ask you about any structural changes you've made (my Winbatch is most like a structured Basic) AND how you've changed the function names.