UDF tutorial

Started by mawi2k, July 21, 2015, 03:38:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mawi2k

I'm fairly new to programming controls and so I have been walking through the tutorials. This one has me stumped:
http://techsupt.winbatch.com/webcgi/webbatch.exe?techsupt/nftechsupt.web+Tutorials+A~Quick~Course~on~UDFs.txt

Neither Example 6 or Example 5 do what the tutorial says they will. Specifically, they are supposed to give the number of total files located on my C: drive. Instead, they give the file count for the directory where I saved them. Obviously, if I really needed to know C:, then, I'd simply run the file from the root of C: - BUT that fails with the following error:

"Error: C:\Example6UDF.wbt
3353 Struct Error: Nesting of structures is too complex

On line 80 of C:\Example6UDF.wbt
In Routine "getdirsize"

'total=total+GetDirSize[thisdir]'"

WinBatch version 32 2009b
WIL version 6.09bib
Windows 7 64bit

Anyone know what's up with that? By the way, the line 'quoted' actually has (parentheses), not [braces]

....IFICantBYTE

Looking at the example, I seem to think there is an error in it...
Try changing the following line in the UDF from:

;Change to directory to inspect
DirChange(origdir)

To:

;Change to directory to inspect
DirChange(dir)
Regards,
....IFICantBYTE

Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong. :)

td

The tutorial has been around for a long time.  It looks like someone forgot to check their work way back when and no one ever noticed until now.  The article has been updated.
"No one who sees a peregrine falcon fly can ever forget the beauty and thrill of that flight."
  - Dr. Tom Cade

mawi2k

I'm thoroughly impressed with the response time on that. Wow.

And thank you!

(yeah, I'm that weird guy who really does learn by a walk through the exercises)

mawi2k

Still not working all the way through.
It starts fine but crashes somewhere along the way.