WinBatch on Windows 11

Started by oradba4u, June 27, 2021, 04:55:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oradba4u

ALL:
I have a WinBatch app that is pretty involved (uses a lot of WinBatch features) that I have been tweeking for 5-6 years. It works fine, but I'm constantly adding new features, etc.

Recently got a copy of Windows 11 (pre-release) and installed it on Oracle VirtualBox.

Happy to announce that the app runs smooth as silk on the Windows 11 release. Testament to WinBatch working fine in the future with "anything" Microsoft throws its way!

F-Y-I, I ran my program in Oracle VirtualBox 6.1.22 on an Intel I7 2016 Laptop with TPM 2.0 running Windows 10 64-bit as the host.

Happy in Helena

td

Based on Windows 11 reviews and previews so far Window 11 is little more than one of MSFT's regular bi-annual Windows 10 feature updates with one big exception. It will require a 64-bit processor that supports TPM 2.0 which eliminates most Intel/AMD processors built before 2019.
"No one who sees a peregrine falcon fly can ever forget the beauty and thrill of that flight."
  - Dr. Tom Cade

stanl

Quote from: td on June 28, 2021, 07:24:44 AM
It will require a 64-bit processor that supports TPM 2.0 which eliminates most Intel/AMD processors built before 2019.

for what, specifically?

td

Assuming that by "for what" you are asking about the purpose of the MSFT's limitation on Windows 11 processors. The answer is simple. Security.

[edit] To be clear the processor limitation is the result of an MSFT requirement for at least an eighth-generation Intel processor or an AMD processor from no earlier than 2019.  Intel eighth generation processors were generally available at the beginning of 2018. So if you have an Intel machine with a processor that dates back to 2018 you may be OK as it can be an eighth generation or newer.
"No one who sees a peregrine falcon fly can ever forget the beauty and thrill of that flight."
  - Dr. Tom Cade

stanl