How to screen scrape?

Started by twb, September 04, 2013, 09:59:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

twb

I'm not a Windows developer by trade, I code on larger IBM computers, but I have taken over our WinBatch scripting/programming.
I might be using the wrong keywords, I searched the new, and old, forum for "screen scrape" and "screen scraping", etc...

I need to be able to have WinBatch script start a Windows application, perform some entries to prompts, and then pull some of the values displayed off of the resulting Window screen.
We can run the Windows application and have prompts entered,but, have not yet figured out how to "screen scrape" values from the Window.
Is there a document, or example, I can look at? Am I using the wrong keywords?

Thank you,
Tom

Deana

The answer really depends on the type of window you are dealing with and what type of data you are trying to get.

Deana F.
Technical Support
Wilson WindowWare Inc.

twb

Thank you Deana.

What I have learned since posting the question is the Windows software is written in a Windows version of COBOL and looks like old style Green screens, text only. They do not get generated by a Windows API.  Another developer here thinks we cannot read them because of that, I don't like to think anything is impossible.  Do you think one of the 3 links you posted will help with that style of screen?

Thanks again,
Tom

Deana

Quote from: twb on September 04, 2013, 11:17:52 AM
Thank you Deana.

What I have learned since posting the question is the Windows software is written in a Windows version of COBOL and looks like old style Green screens, text only. They do not get generated by a Windows API.  Another developer here thinks we cannot read them because of that, I don't like to think anything is impossible.  Do you think one of the 3 links you posted will help with that style of screen?

Thanks again,
Tom

Are you able to select/copy the text using the keyboard?
Deana F.
Technical Support
Wilson WindowWare Inc.

twb