Trying to extend Jay's scripts - Article ID: W16783

Started by George Vagenas, November 06, 2013, 06:10:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

George Vagenas

I've been running a script based on This TechDB article for many years.  I've used it personally  and for clients who needed this functionality.  Recently, in trying to revise my daughter's bookkeeping spreadsheets, I once again found a use for this utility.

Currently the script logs on to her bank account and downloads various account pages (html), extracts the relevant data from the pages and loads them into her spreadsheets.  The problem is that the pages are always being revised which requires a rewrite of the script.  Sometimes the changes are minor others times it involves a significant amount of work to just figure out what changed and how to fix it.  My apologies for length of this preamble but it is relevant to what I'm trying to accomplish.

While the underlying pages of the banks website are frequently changed its functionality does not.  What I'm trying to do is access the csv files that have always been available from the site.  If I can revise the script to do this its bye bye page scrapping and an easy step to import the data into Excel.  So here's the current code:
Code (winbatch) Select
   prqType       = prqAll.OptionFilterNameValue
   prqType.value = 'ALL'     

prqType       = prqAll.getAccountActivity

if !prqNewPage('GetStmtAction', 'VerifyActivityHdr')
      gErr = 'ACCOUNTNOTAVAILABLE'
      return
   endif

which grabs the raw pages for processing.  But at this point the script is logged onto the webpage which has a clickable label "Advanced Options" which opens up two selection controls, one defaults to grab everything which is what I want and the other has an option to "Download to Comma Delimited Text".  When I look at the page source this is the relevant line
Code (html5) Select
</div>
  </div>
<div class="hr"><hr/></div>
<h3>